Robert Frost: The Road Not Taken

TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Robert Frost: The Road Not Taken

  1. Rev. Cynthia says:

    Certainly this poem rings true for those of us, who have experienced life on the streets. One is forever altered. For me, the experience highlighted both the best & the worst of humanity. Personally, I couldn’t help but become more compassionate toward human suffering on all levels. I also got to see how overwhelming the wish to stop homelessness can feel, even at the most basic level of despretly wanting to help just one person, but not having the personal resources to do that. And, I was witness to the most horrible attitudes & treatment by social service staff, agencies, and the general population.

    Coming into contact with someone, who is experiencing homelessness gives everyone a choice as to which path they will take – will they simply walk by, as though the person is invisible & the situation does not exist or will solve itself?; will they say and do negative or violent things?; or will they be compassionate toward the individual and take steps to help solve the issue of homelessness?

    What sort of society are we to allow children, the frail elderly, and people with physical/mental disabilities to be without housing? We have the intelligence, creativity, and global financial resources as a society to solve this problem.

    It is my hope that each one of you reading this will educate yourselves about the issue of homelessness and contact your local homeless service providers to see how you can be part of the solution.

    Blessings along your journey. May your paths be filled with love & light…
    Rev. Cynthia

  2. One of my favourite poems :-D! And so much meaning! Onwards in the movement towards positive change. “Do not follow where the path may lead….instead go where there is no path and leave a trail.” 🙂

Comments are closed.